Jerome Joseph Relkin - Psychologist

For Viewing Only
Forum rules
Since some of the different parts of the trial transcript are extremely large, posting has been disabled in them. Use the Baniszewski Trial Discussions for postable topics.

Posts: 139  Images: 550  Joined: August 8th, 2010, 7:35 am

Jerome Joseph Relkin - Psychologist

Postby admin » October 31st, 2010, 6:14 pm

THE COURT: Next witness, please.

WITNESS SWORN BY THE COURT, WITNESS AFFIRMED.

JEROME JOSEPH RELKIN , a witness called on behalf of defendant Gertrude Baniszewski,
being duly sworn by the court, testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION,
QUESTIONS BY MR. WILLIAM ERBECKER, ATTORNEY FOR DEFENDANT,
GERTRUDE BANISZEWSKI

Q. State your name, sir.

A. Jerome Joseph Relkin.

Q. Where do you live, sir?

A. 4651 Hinesley Avenue, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Q. What is your education, Mr. Relkin?

A. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology from Rutger's University in 1950 and a Master's Degree from Temple University in Philadelphia in 1959, in Psychology. I completed all the course work in clinical psychology except the dissertation at Purdue University.

Q. What year?

A. I completed the course work in '62, completed the clinical internship at LaRue Carter Hospital in Indianapolis in 1963 in psychology.

Q. Have you ever worked in any place as a staff psychologist?

A. I worked as staff psychologist in maximum security division of Beatty Memorial Hospital at Westville, Indiana, so called the criminally insane, in which we saw a lot of patients.

Q. When was that, Doctor, I mean Mr. Relkin?

A. From July '59 to September of 1960 and two subsequent summers.

Q. And while there did you have occasion to psychoanalyze any of the patients up there at Beatty?

A. I evaluated many, many patients.

Q. What do you mean by many, many? About how many?

A. It would be hard to say.

Q. Would you say fifty?

A. Much more than that, a few hundred.

Q. Now, you have done research in the area of criminal psychology?