Ronald Hull - Physician

For Viewing Only
Forum rules
Since some of the different parts of the trial transcript are extremely large, posting has been disabled in them. Use the Baniszewski Trial Discussions for postable topics.

Posts: 139  Images: 550  Joined: August 8th, 2010, 7:35 am

Ronald Hull - Physician

Postby admin » October 31st, 2010, 5:12 pm

JURY PRESENT AND SEATED.

WITNESS SWORN BY THE COURT.

RONALD HULL , a witness called by the Court,
being duly sworn by the court, testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION,
QUESTIONS BY THE COURT

Q. Talk loud so the jury can hear you. What is your name?

A. Dr. Ronald Hull.

Q. Are you a practicing physician here in Marion County, Indiana?

A. Yes, I am.

Q. Did you go to any school to prepare you for your profession?

A. Yes, I graduated from Indiana University School of Medicine in 1947.

Q. Did you serve any internship or residency?

A. Intern one year, five years residency training in neuropsychiatry, certified by the American Board of Neurology and Psychiatry in 1953, with private practice in that specialty since this.

Q. You are one of the physicians the court appointed to examine the defendant Gertrude Baniszewski?

A. Yes.

Q. Did you make such examination?

A. Yes.

Q. Do you have any interest in the outcome of this case?

A. No.

Q. The defendant is charged here by indictment with the offense of First Degree Murder. The alleged date is the 26th day of October 1965. Doctor, have you formed an opinion as to whether the defendant was sane or insane on or about the 26th day of October, 1965?

A. Yes, I have.

Q. What is that opinion?

A. In my opinion, she was sane at that time.

Q. Do you have an opinion, Doctor, as to whether she is sane or insane at the present time?

A. In my opinion, at the present time, she is sane.

THE COURT: Cross examination, State of Indiana?

MR. NEW: Doctor, did you find any indication she had ever been insane?

A. No, I did not.

MR. NEW: That is all.